DHCP Server confusion

tio
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Aug 2013, 18:03

DHCP Server confusion

Postby tio » 05 Aug 2013, 18:05

Hi

We have a very basic DHCP server in the form of our run of the mill broadband router. Im trying in vain to setup erPXE to host some freeware boot and nuke as well as our WIM's but cant figure out how to set it up despite the wiki saying how to do it.

How do you setup the DHCP on erPXE to simply act like a proxy DHCP server and also give it the XP, Vista, Win 7 and Things like Redo and Hirens i want to install? There doesnt seem to be any wiki articles on how to actually add the things to the erPXE list itself and if they are they really confusing!
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: DHCP Server confusion

Postby RaveMaker » 06 Aug 2013, 09:09

Most DHCP settings are located at:
http://erpxe.org/DHCP_Configuration

Why do you need a DHCP proxy?
Just add the settings to your primary DHCP server.
tio
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Aug 2013, 18:03

Re: DHCP Server confusion

Postby tio » 06 Aug 2013, 19:29

Id like to but our routers are locked down.
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: DHCP Server confusion

Postby RaveMaker » 07 Aug 2013, 18:13

You should try using "Dnsmasq" to add the PXE functions to your existing DHCP environment.

Return to “Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest