WinPE Network Booting Issue

Koovu
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 03:10

WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby Koovu » 31 Jul 2013, 04:50

Hi guys,

I'm having trouble booting into WinPE and Active Boot Disk (which also uses the Windows bootrom if I'm not mistaken?), I'm able to boot into all other tools and plugins (linux distros are fine, memtest, etc)

When I select to boot into either WinPE or ActiveBootDisc, I receive exactly the same error (except the path for WinPE is \er\0\BCD). Error is;

Image

My files I have in place are for this directory, for ActiveBootDisc are:

Image

That winpe.wim file is the one obtained via the instructions on the plugins installation page.

I wasn't sure if this was because of missing network drivers within the winpe.wim file, as I'm using VMWare to test the PXE server, so I added the one and only drive I could find for my installation of VMWare Tools, which is a file named 'vmscsi.ini' - other people on the net have had driver issues with VMWare, but everyone else seems to have a different driver to me.

If it's anything to go off, I installed a fresh copy of Windows 7 on VMWare, and I couldn't get the network to work at all. Ubuntu works fine however.
Koovu
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 03:10

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby Koovu » 01 Aug 2013, 09:29

Update:

I've booted into PXE from a standalone desktop (not a virtual machine) and tried to load ActiveBootDisc and WinPE, I receive the exact same error :/

So it's not a VMWare driver that was causing the problem...

I'm even more confused now.
Koovu
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 03:10

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby Koovu » 01 Aug 2013, 09:45

Not sure if it's worth mentioning, I've checked the 'BCD' file, and the information contained within it seems correct as well..

Image
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby RaveMaker » 02 Aug 2013, 13:52

It looks like a remap issue.
Are you using windows or linux as a tftp server?
Post your tftp configuration settings.
Koovu
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 03:10

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby Koovu » 07 Aug 2013, 09:58

Thanks for the reply,

Yeah the issue is resolved now, and yeah it was a remap issue. I was using Linux. It was getting the \ mixed up with /.

I've kept your ERPXE package as my primary PXE, and just added an iPXE kernal combined with a script for loading anything Windows related.

Problem solved! Cheers for the awesome package guys :D
kokotakus
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Aug 2013, 12:34

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby kokotakus » 18 Aug 2013, 21:40

hi, please could you be more specific? what script you used?
I've got the same issue using QNAP as tftp, it's linux...
What scripts you used please, could you provide any link?
Thank you very much.
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby RaveMaker » 18 Aug 2013, 23:12

kokotakus
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Aug 2013, 12:34

Re: WinPE Network Booting Issue

Postby kokotakus » 30 Aug 2013, 15:31

hello admin, thanks for your reply, but I had no luck solving this.
on the QNAP there is some stripped version of linux and none of those files like in real linux distros is present:
"/etc/xinetd.d/tftp"
"/etc/default/tftpd-hpa"

any ideas? I've also created a thread about this on the official QNAP forum
http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=81630

Return to “Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron