Windows PE 3.0

w4rh0und
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Mar 2012, 19:12

Windows PE 3.0

Postby w4rh0und » 03 Apr 2012, 15:54

Hi


I have followed the how to on WinPe3.0. It is working but the image boots in 10-30 minutes on vmware.

I have followed a different how to some time ago:

http://sysadminman.net/blog/2007/pxe-bo ... e-server-8

And this booted in 1-2 minutes. Is there a way i can modify a menu to add this way of using winpe 3.0 into erpxe?

Thank you
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby RaveMaker » 03 Apr 2012, 16:34

you need to add VMware NIC drivers, that article covers it.

As for the PXE configuration it is the same, The only diffrence is in the WIM file itself.

You can always edit the plugins config file:
it is located in tftpboot/er/plugins/PLUGINSNAME/*.menu
w4rh0und
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Mar 2012, 19:12

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby w4rh0und » 05 Apr 2012, 20:59

I have changed gpxelinux.0 to "pxelinux.0" in dhcpd.conf and it seams that now the images are flying.

No ideea why it is soooo slow with gpxelinux.0.
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby RaveMaker » 06 Apr 2012, 00:03

I've checked this under VMware and you are right, The speed is 10 times faster and more...

GPXE supports downloading the configuration with http instead of tftp.
By default, PXELINUX will look for its configuration file using TFTP. To override this behaviour, you can specify DHCP options 209 and/or 210. (See syslinux/doc/rfc5071.txt)

This feature is currently not used with ERPXE so we recommend switching back to pxelinux.0.

Thank you for your support.
w4rh0und
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Mar 2012, 19:12

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby w4rh0und » 06 Apr 2012, 03:51

About winpe 3.0

How can i add more winpe folders like the ones that exist 0 1 2 ... 8? So i can try to add more features

How can i generate the bcd and bt.exe files not to look for the boot files in tftp/Boot?


Is it possible to load a win7pe iso file like Bartpe?
RaveMaker
Posts: 204
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 20:11

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby RaveMaker » 06 Apr 2012, 16:40

Hi
I have created a page "Howto Add Custom WinPE 3.0", You can get a detailed explanation over there.:

http://erpxe.org/index.php/Add_Custom_WinPE_3.0


To boot from ISO you'll need to use memdisk or something similar, I don't know if it will be successful or not.

I think WIM is a much better solution since it can be compressed.
Also most WinPE 3.0 ISO files have a WIM file stored within them so just extract it and you are done.

In our WinPE 1.0 we used an ISO file in order to simplify matters for most users,
but SDI is a much more efficient way of loading Windows PE 1.0 so,
in the larger WinPE 1.0 plugins we do use SDI with NTFS compression.
w4rh0und
Posts: 14
Joined: 28 Mar 2012, 19:12

Re: Windows PE 3.0

Postby w4rh0und » 06 Apr 2012, 20:34

Cool thanks for the answer so hex editoring the iamge was the secret to place is in dif folders. Thanks alot for clearing that out. I will have to give it a try

Return to “Troubleshooting and Problems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron